Clarinet Master Class 1982-07-01 Regenstein Hall

Copy the text below to embed this resource

Main contributor
Marcellus, Robert
1. Lecture by Marcellus and listening of numerous orchestral clarinet solo recordings: 1926 Philidelphia Orchestra, Liszt "Hungarian Rhapsody," and Ippolitov-Ivanov "Caucasian Sketches (March of the Sardar)" both under Stowkowski; 1933 Vienna Philharmonic, Beethoven "Symphony No. 6 (mvt 4)" and "Symphony No. 4 (mvt 2)" under Bruno Walter; 1939 Cleveland Orchestra, Shostakovitch "Symphony No. 1 (mvt 1)" and Rimsky Korsakov "Scheherazade (mvts 2, 3, and 4)" under Rodzinski; 1939 Chicago Symphony, Brahms "Symphony No. 3 (mvt 2)" under Frederic Stock; 1935 New York Philharmonic, Mendelssohn "Scherzo to a Midsummer Night's Dream," 1939/40 New York Philharmonic, Herold "Zampa Overture" and Rossini "Semiramide" all under Toscanini; 1936 Philidelphia Orchestra, Borodin "Polovtsian Dances" under Stokowski; unknown date (possibly 1936) Philidelphia Orchestra, Chopin transcroption by Stokowski "Mazurka in A minor" under Stokowski. 

2. 1939/40 CBS Symphony, Deems Taylor "Through the Looking Glass" under Howard Barlow; unknown year Cleveland Orchestra, Prokofiev "Peter and the Wolf" (clarinet solo played by McGinnis?) unknown conductor; 1939 Minneapolis Symphony, Ravel "Tombeau de Couperin" under Demit Metropolis; 1946 Philidelphia Orchestra Myaskovsky "Symphony No. 21" unknown conductor; Brahms "Symphony No. 3 (mvt 2)" and Beethoven "Symphony No. 6 (mvt 1)"; CBS Symphony, Offenbach "Orpheus in the Underworld Overture" under Ruchinsky; Chicago Symphony, Rimsky-Korsakov "Scheherazade (mvt 2,3,4)," Strauss "Don Quixote," and Bartok "Hungarian Sketches" all under Fritz Reiner. Session concludes with quotes from conductor Eugene Ormandy.
Robert Marcellus Master Class Audio Archives
Music Library

Local Note

T-250 v.1085

Access Restrictions

This item is accessible by: the public.